Pantalones

So.  One of the things I considered a runway trend for fall but I never posted about was trousers.  I saw lots of great pants in the Spring and Fall shows that would make me give up my uniform of skinny jeans.  So here are some images I’ve collected from runway shows, ads and fashion communities.

Comments after the jump.

Brian Reyes s/s09

Brian Reyes s09

Devi Kroell s/s09

Devi Kroell s09 2

Dries van Noten s/s 09

Dries Van Noten s09

Marc by Marc Jacobs s/s 09

Marc by Marc Jacobs s09 4

Brian Reyes f/w 09

Brian Reyes f09

Emanuel Ungaro f/w 09

Emanuel Ungaro f09 2

Hermès f/w 09

Hermes f09 2

Parabal Gurung f/w 09

Parabal Gurung f09

a blogger whose blog I stumbled across a while ago.

sany08833gggggg_1196591723

Chictopia.com user ClassyTrash

Classytrash

picture from a lookbook I believe I found on Fabsugar.com

LOOK9-LG.preview

from a Martin and Osa ad.

Martin and Osa

So like I said, I usually wear dark wash skinny jeans, but these looks might make me change my routine.  I like the loose cut, nice for the spring, but also good for the winter.  I’m not usually a fan of slacks, they feel so formal, but these are casual.  

Like most women’s outfits, though, the shoes are a big part.  To get the bulk of the looks down it would require a great pair of pumps or heeled sandals, and I walk a lot, so heels aren’t high on my list of footwear.  But I guess I’m growing up and as an adult, heels are fairly necessary.

Although seeing this:

Lanvin s09 detail

(from this look: Lanvin s/s 09)

Lanvin s09 5

I am seriously craving a pair of nude pumps.  But back to the pants.

I like that they have straight legs and that they’re loose, without being too close to pajama pants.  I’m not quite sure yet how I feel about the flood length on some of them, but for summer, with the right pair of shoes, it could be good.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pam on May 11, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    I love this trend. The Brian Reyes pants especially are fantastic!

  2. I know, they’re so perfect for summer…

  3. Posted by Meagan on May 14, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Trousers are one of my favorite pieces. I don’t even think they are a trend since they come back year after year.

  4. Yeah, obviously it’s hard to call trousers a trend, because pants are a pretty stable part of many wardrobes. The part that I think is a trend is the shape – tapered leg, mostly, and the shape around the hips. I like the shape more than some of the wide-leg or flared styles I’ve seen, so I think that’s where the trend comes in.

  5. Posted by Elise on June 2, 2009 at 2:25 am

    Love love love this article especially the part about Brian Reyes and Lanvin.

  6. Posted by zizihua on June 9, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    The Devi Kroell trousers are divine and they fit beautifully!

  7. Posted by zizihua on July 15, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Devi Kroell shoes on Gilt Group today!

Leave a Reply

