Resort 2010

So the resort shows are kind of old news, but I’ve been slowly making my way through them.  I know everyone’s talking about the couture shows, but since couture isn’t in my budget (although resort isn’t really, either) I thought I’d go for the looks I could actually try and replicate or lust after.

3.1 Phillip Lim

3.1 Phillip Lim resort 2010 3

Chris Benz

Chris Benz resort 2010 3

Costume National

Costume National resort 2010 5

Erdem

Erdem resort 2010

Gucci

Gucci resort 2010 3

Gucci resort 2010 5

Lela Rose

Lela Rose resort 2010

Matthew Williamson

Matthew Williamson resort 2010 4

Matthew Williamson resort 2010 2

Matthew Williamson resort 2010

Max Azria

Max Azria resort 2010

Moschino Cheap And Chic

Moschino Cheap & Chic resort 2010 5

just absolute lust.  I’ll post more another time. More specific comments after the jump.

Basically, these looks embody some trends/currents/ideas I love right now.  Tough feminine – studs, leather, hardware, glitter, soft, floaty fabrics, etc.

There’s also statement jewelry – which I loove very much – and simplicity.  Simplicity, not minimalism, I’m not quite sure what I mean by that, but I guess, it’s not that things are one color, it’s that there are only a few pieces, and they’re great (see Matthew Williamson).  I still love the Olsen-twin piles of layers, but obviously that’s not quite practical these days, so it’s sort of been put on the back burner.

Jackets.  I love jackets and cardigans.  Maybe I’m just too modest, or I just get cold too easily, but I really wish I had a better collection of things to put over outfits/dresses/tank tops/tshirts etc.

As I’ve said before, I don’t like summer because it feels like getting dressed is all about having  lots of great dresses or skirts.  Where I live it feels like a million degrees in the summer and the air is like soup it’s so humid and it’s especially hard to wear anything more than a light dress.

I guess what I’m getting at is, I hate getting dressed these days, especially when I look at beautiful clothes like these, which usually involve layering.  I know resort is technically between fall and spring when “everyone” is jetting away for the holidays, but since I never buy anything and I don’t really care about seasons, it’s all fair game for getting dressed.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Tiffany on July 20, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I liked this post a lot! I miss wandering around Le Bon Marché after class with you.

Leave a Reply

